aDORKable

Bookhunt Adventures 2 – Epic

Posted on: September 25, 2009

Epic

It’s vacation already! Well, most are probably happy and are already dreaming of beaches, resorts and lots of summer escapades. But I just don’t see what fun these things can bring. I’m not much into physical activities and I don’t love the outdoors as much the others do. That probably keeps me innocent about the fun outings bring to many people. I prefer to stay inside the house and read novels or other forms of literary. I also try to read textbooks and other educational magazines, partly because I want to have advance knowledge for the next semester or maybe just learn new things, and partly because I simply can’t read anything else. But that rarely happens during vacations. I’m mostly stuck with literary. But recently, I’ve run out of books to read I and I ended up calling my friends to beg them to spare me a book for the vacation. I am suddenly drawn in a desperate bookhunt for any book that may entertain me for the boring 2 months of waiting. Fortunately, a friend of mine, Elver, lent me a book that I can keep till the end of summer vacation. The book was entitled Epic. I asked my friend to describe to me and I didn’t like the description much. He said that it is about an online game that became the basis of the economy in New Earth. New earth is the new planet where in remaining citizens of earth moved because the old earth was destroyed by wars. Because the people of this new planet became afraid of the things that violence brings, they decided to make a law that will prohibit even the smallest act of violence. Conflicts were resolved by the use of a game they call Epic. Epic is very much like Ragnarok. But in New Earth every Copper bits you earn will be the money you’ll use for real life. That’s how Epic became the basis of economy. Anyone who commits violence outside the game, even children, shall be exiled and brought to an island for violent people. The Central Allocations a.k.a. C.A. is the known government of New Earth. Composed of it’s nine members, The C.A. makes they’re decisions privately under meetings and anyone who questions them may issue a challenge in Epic where they must win against the rich characters of the C.A. committee. But it is almost impossible to defeat them because they have the collection of the finest weapons ever found in the game. But not until a group of children from Osterfjord killed a dragon and took claim of its hoard. They were able to obtain a fortune larger than that of the C.A. The dragonslayers were then drawn into a cutthroat, power-hungry world. And by there, their real adventure began. For me, the story was very fictional and it didn’t interest me. But I’ve learned not to judge a book by its cover or by how others describe it, so I gave it a try. Anyway, I didn’t have any choice; it’s the only book available. But when I started reading it, I realized it wasn’t that bad. In fact, it wasn’t bad at all. The story was thrilling, though fictional, but it’s good. And you know what? I’ve just had a craving for its sequel, Saga. Seems like another Bookhunt Adventure, huh?

Leave a Reply

Kumusta Ka?

Hello! Ako si Eunice. Narito ka sa isa sa mga tambayan ko sa cyber world. Salamat sa pagbisita. (: Maari mo rin akong makita dito: Click
